In January it was announced that Thom Yorke composed the soundtrack for Daniele Luchetti’s film Confidenza, an adaptation of the Italian drama based on the novel of the same name by Domenico Starnone. The film premiered at the International Film Festival in Rotterdam and is scheduled for release in Italian cinemas on April 24.

Today, XL Recordings announces that Thom Yorke’s “Confidenza” soundtrack will be released digitally on April 26, with vinyl and CD to follow on July 12. Also presented today is the music video for the single “Knife Edge“, starring Elio Germano and Federica Rosellini.

Confidenza” follows Yorke’s previous full score and original soundtrack for Luca Guadagnino’s 2018 Suspiria remake, with Suspirium receiving a GRAMMY nomination for Best Song Written for Visual Media. Produced by Sam Petts-Davies (Suspiria, The Smile Wall Of Eyes), Confidenza sees Petts-Davies and Yorke team up again with the London Contemporary Orchestra, along with a jazz ensemble that includes Robert Stillman and fellow The Smile band member Tom Skinner were part of. In 2019, Yorke contributed music to Edward Norton’s Motherless Brooklyn and in 2022 he wrote two original tracks for the series finale of Peaky Blinders.

Most recently, Yorke has been touring with The Smile (Tom Skinner, Jonny Greenwood, Thom Yorke), who released their second studio album “Wall Of Eyes” in January, following up on the band’s 2022 debut album, “A Light For Attracting Attention ”. During their most recent tour in March, the prolific trio debuted even more new The Smile music at several shows. The Smile will resume their tour in Europe in June and August, including Lowlands.

Tracklist “Confidenza”
1. The Big City
2. Knife Edge
3. Letting Down Gently
4. Secret Clarinet
5. In The Trees
6. Prize Giving
7. Four Ways In Time
8. Confidenza
9. Nosebleed Nuptials
10. Bunch Of Flowers
11. A Silent Scream
12. On The Ledge


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *