New single “been here before” out now

Featured image by Ned Corryel

– Announced to perform at this year’s Pitchfork Music Festival Paris 
– New EP mixed by Joseph Hartwell Jones (FKA Twigs, Olivia Dean, FLO)
– Previous support dates with Lord Apex, Jeshi and dexter in the newsagent
– Recently returned from UK tour with Frankie Stew & Harvey Gunn
– Spotify RADAR: First Listen, Our Generation, Fresh Finds UK Class Of 2022

best new music” – i-D

a sweeping, lo-fi, inner city R&B treat…really very good” – Dork

intimate and cerebral… drowsed in individuality and character” – New Wave Magazine

skilfully curated R&B” – The Line Of Best Fit

kid apollo bring a compellingly fresh sound to meet charmingly shrugging vocals” – Notion

startlingly emotionally assured and, at times, terrifically heartrending” – The Pit LDN

visceral, introspective lo-fi R&B” – GUAP

murky hip-hop production, alt-R&B textures, sluiced through with system-focussed electronics” – CLASH

Brixton, London alternative R&B trio kid apollo have released a new single “been here before” and announced their new EP ‘In Your Own Right‘ will be released 28th July via Sweat Entertainment. The EP will feature a new collaboration with dexter in the newsagent, as well as the recently released tracks “plansfor2” and “know where to find me“. The trio have also been announced to perform at Pitchfork Music Festival Paris in November.

Referencing Frank OceanBakar and Dijon among their influences, upcoming EP ‘In Your Own Right’ was produced and written by kid apollo and mixed by Joseph Hartwell Jones (FKA Twigs, Olivia Dean, FLO), and finds the Brixton trio toeing the line between alternative, progressive R&B and meditative lo-fi pop.

New single “been here before” was the first song written for the new EP. Adorned with reverb-drenched percussion, warm acoustic guitars and soaring lo-fi string arrangements, vocalist and lyricist Jimmy spoke on the lyrical inspiration for the track:

“This one is talking about how there can often be too much fire in a situation and how this inevitably leads to both sides going kinda crazy. The general theme focuses on the repetition of this happening and it just feeling like a loop, hence ‘been here before’. This was actually the first song that was made for this project but we felt like it showed a slightly different energy to our sound which we wanted to show. It was definitely a verse/chorus process when we were making it, as in we approached the whole instrumental and vocal at different times and as different processes which we don’t often do.”

Consisting of twin brothers (and producers) Felix and Theo Ratigan and singer/producer Jimmy HM, kid apollo merge visceral, experimental R&B with contemplative, lo-fi pop – tackling the anxieties and over-stimulation of teenage life in London. Embodying warmth and sorrow and brimming with unsparing honesty, their music typifies the all-too-familiar teenage pangs of heartbreak and uncertainty.

kid apollo have been making music together for the entirety of their young adult life. As kids at school together in Reading they came together over a shared love of UK hip-hop and began making beats on their laptops. At a time in life when expressing yourself can be awkward, music became an outlet for feelings and a bonding experience for a tight-knit friendship group. Countless hours of making music with the pure intention of creating led them to where they are today.

In recent months kid apollo have shared the live stage with acts including Lord ApexJeshi and dexter in the newsagent as well as joining Frankie Stew & Harvey Gunn on a full UK tour.

Across their two EPs released to date, 2022’s ‘u the real star here’, and 2021’s ‘all i think about’, the trio have received wide acclaim from press (i-D, COLORS, Notion, CLASH Magazine, The Independent, The Line Of Best Fit, GUAP, New Wave Magazine, Wonderland, Dork), picked up up strong radio airplay (BBC R1 and BBC R1 Xtra), as well as Spotify naming them in their Class Of 2022 lists for RADAR: First Listen, Our Generation and Fresh Finds UK/IE playlists.

kid apollo‘s new EP ‘In Your Own Right’ is out 28th July via Sweat Entertainment. New single “been here before” is out now.

‘In Your Own Right’ EP artwork

In Your Own Right Tracklist:

1. been here before
2. know where to find me
3. IYOR interlude
4. fantasise (ft. dexter in the newsagent)
5. plansfor2


November 6-13, Pitchfork Music Festival Paris


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *