Fly Anakin shares a new single and music video, “Intrepid,” from the second half of his Skinemaxxx project produced by Foisey, out July 28th via Lex Records. The sly, creeping groove of Foisey’s production on the new track finds the Mutant Academy pairing in rare form, exercising years of musical chemistry on a track that could open a 90’s crime drama series.

Intrepid” feels a world away from Anakin’s previously-released single “Things Change,” featuring London-based singer-songwriter Demae, and yet, the tracks are anchored by Anakin’s meticulous raps. The single’s Noah Porter-directed visual finds Anakin installing ‘Skinemaxxx‘ in a lavish hillside home and taking in the scenery.

Skinemaxxx‘s opening side introduced fans to the immersive concept of the project, rooted in the nostalgia of flipping through the TV guide as a kid, catching your favorite cartoons, and stumbling onto the channels you shouldn’t be watching. Side B picks up that channel-surfing journey and maintains the quintessential tone of any Mutant Academy project, chock full of inside jokes and tongue-in-cheek skits and technically-proficient rapping with colorful production. The first installment of Skinemaxxx included singles like “Outsidigan’s Anthem,” and “Blicky Bop,” which challenged Anakin’s dexterity with a production style out of his comfort zone, showing an immersive new side to the artist that Pitchfork calls “the single best pure rapper in the scene.”

Check out “Intrepid” above, see full project details below, and stay tuned for more from Fly Anakin coming soon.

Fly Anakin
Skinemaxxx (Side B)
July 28, 2023
Lex Records

1. Taxicab Confessions
2. Blain Pitch
3. Animal Planet
4. Intrepid
5. Like Anita
6. Blockstory feat. ANKLEJOHN
7. Things Change feat. Demae
8. Lacey Duvalle
9. Outro
10. Crashout feat. BbyMutha (Physical-only BONUS TRACK)

Skinemaxxx (Side B) Artwork

More about Fly Anakin:

Skinemaxxx (Side A) builds upon the breakout year Anakin had in 2022 with the release of his debut studio album Frankwhich includes the stand-out tracks “Black Be The Source,” “Ghost” and “Sean Price.” Frank planted Anakin’s flag in the contemporary hip-hop scene as not only a technically-gifted rapper, but as a fully-realized artist and songwriter, and received praise from Rolling Stone, The FADER, Complex, and NPR. The album also landed on best of the year lists at Bandcamp, HipHopDX, OkayPlayer, Uproxx and more. Most recently, Fly Anakin enlisted Madlib for a remix of the Frank track “No Dough,” which was included on Lex Records’ LEX-XX 20th Anniversary remix series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *