photo credit Jack McCain



Chuck Strangers releases his new album A Forsaken Lover’s Plea via Lex Records. In the 5 years since the release of his last full-length, Consumers Park, Chuck has been diligently refining his voice as an artist. Alongside the release, he shares a new music video for album track “Sunset Park,” a visual reference to Chuck’s tranquil yet expressive penmanship. 

A Forsaken Lover’s Plea stands as evidence of Chuck’s unwavering dedication and fervor, detailing his relationship falling into and out of love with hip-hop over the course of making this album, which marks a notable milestone in his musical odyssey.

On A Forsaken Lover’s Plea, Chuck architects his sound from both sides of the board, outside of production assistance from friends like The Alchemist, Animoss, and familiar guest features from the likes of Joey Bada$$, Erick The Architect (of Flatbush Zombies), and Remy Banks. The album’s title serves as a metaphor for Chuck’s own relationship to being a hip-hop artist and making music, equating his passion for music to a tragic love affair. A Forsaken Lover’s Plea expands on the career-spanning self-reflection that Chuck framed his project from last year, The Boys & Girls EP, where he chronicled his own experience returning to his solo career. His new album captures a wider spectrum of his experience as an artist, detailing both the joys and the pitfalls of life as a musician.

Chuck’s progression into the spotlight as a fully-fledged artist, rather than just an architect behind the boards, has been a calculated and organic journey that began with 2018’s Consumers Park. Having taken lessons learned from his years at the center of the Pro Era braintrust and developing them into subsequent projects like his 2020 EP, Too Afraid To Dance, and his project from last year, The Boys & Girls EP, Chuck has shaped himself into a standalone voice in hip-hop. A Forsaken Lover’s Plea punctuates that step forward with a personal statement that demonstrates the full breadth of his talent as a rapper, beatmaker, and executive producer, piecing together an album from start to finish that’s a reflection of his personal renaissance as an artist falling back into love with rap music.

Chuck Strangers
A Forsaken Lover’s Plea
Lex Records
March 15th, 2024

1. Richard Pryor
2. Dead Vines
3. Close Calls
4. Sermonette
5. Ski’d Up
6. Too Afraid to Dance feat. Remy Banks
7. A Forsaken Lover’s Plea
8. Sunset Park
9. Polish Jazz feat. Joey Bada$$
10. Feelings
11. Crusaders
12. To All the Girls
13. Home
14. Ali’s Roti Shop
15. Grasp feat. Obii Say
16. Some Flatbush… feat, Erick the Architect
17. Count on My Love


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *