featured image by Molly Keane

Acclaimed singer-songwriter Sorcha Richardson is set to captivate audiences once again with her latest single, ‘Map Of Manhattan‘, slated for release on September 20th via Faction Records. This evocative track offers a poignant exploration of the complexities within relationships, delving into the anxieties and intense emotions that unfold over the course of a single night.

“‘Map Of Manhattan’ began as a quick demo recorded in New York on a day off on tour in March. It came together over a few days in Belfast this summer and it was one of those songs that sort of appeared almost fully formed from the start,” reveals Sorcha Richardson. “It’s about second guessing yourself, or someone else, in a relationship, and how the intensities and fears of that relationship play out over a single night. It’s sort of about bracing for heartbreak, not because you think it’s coming, but because it’s the thing you fear the most.”

This release marks a significant moment in Richardson’s career as she prepares to make her US and Irish tour. This milestone follows a string of successes, including a No. 1 Independent Irish album, a triumphant European and U.S. tour, and an acclaimed cover of her song “Shark Eyes” by Ellie Goulding.

Tickets at

For years, Sorcha Richardson has been captivating audiences with her narrative songwriting, crafting poignant vignettes that resonate deeply with those navigating similar emotional landscapes. Her debut album, “First Prize Bravery,” released in November of 2019, received critical acclaim from The Irish Times, The Guardian, The Fader, and Nylon. It was also nominated for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize for Irish album of the year. The album’s lyrical snapshots offer a window into the complexities of life in one’s twenties, exploring desires, doubts, and developments that define the decade.

In 2022, Sorcha Richardson released her highly anticipated sophomore album, “Smiling Like An Idiot.” Crafted during the Covid-19 pandemic, the album was written and recorded in her late grandparents’ house, where the living room transformed into an impromptu studio. Richardson immersed herself in the “static process” of working alone, followed by a month-long series of daily Zoom sessions.

It mostly tracks one specific relationship,” she shares. “It’s about falling in love with a person and a place, which in this case is Dublin, and how those two are interlinked.”

Thematically, the album explores the pursuit of happiness and the profound intensity of new love, tempered by the ever-present fear of potential loss. Through its beguiling magic, “Smiling Like An Idiot” navigates those challenging moments in life with an underlying optimism that, somehow, things will ultimately fall into place.

Sorcha Richardson TOUR DATES

21 SEPTEMBER – Reeperbahn Festival, Hamburg, Germany

15 OCTOBER – Washington, DC, US, Union Stage
16 OCTOBER – Philadelphia, PA, US, The Foundry Philadelphia
18 OCTOBER – Brooklyn, NY, US, Elsewhere
20 OCTOBER – Cambridge, MA, US, Sonia
22 OCTOBER – Toronto, ON, Canada, Drake Underground
23 OCTOBER – Detroit, MI, US, Lager House
24 OCTOBER – Chicago, IL, US, Beat Kitchen
25 OCTOBER – Minneapolis, MN, US, 7th Street Entry
27 OCTOBER – Denver, CO, US, Larimer Lounge
30 OCTOBER – Vancouver, BC, Canada, Biltmore Cabaret
31 OCTOBER – Seattle, WA, US, Fremont Abbey Arts Center
1 NOVEMBER – Portland, OR, US, Holocene
3 NOVEMBER – San Francisco, CA, US, Bottom of the Hill
5 NOVEMBER – Los Angeles (LA), CA, US, The Echo

25 NOVEMBER – Galway, Ireland, Roisin Dubh
29 NOVEMBER – Dublin, Ireland, National Concert Hall
30 NOVEMBER – Limerick, Ireland, Dolans Warehouse
8 DECEMBER – Cork, Ireland, Live at St Luke’s

Tickets at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *