The new album will be released on February 21 via 4AD/Beggars. With the announcement, Erika de Casier shares the first single ‘Lucky‘. The song is accompanied by a video by Jesse May Fisher entitled “me walking on the beach”, made as an homage to the viral YouTube videos of the early noughties.

Erika de Casier isn’t looking for perfection – she’s just trying to show you where she is right now. With ‘Still‘, De Casier proves once again that she is a master in writing songs that speak to universal experiences of modern life, even with all their specific features and idiosyncrasies. If Essentials (2019) was filled with perfect songs about flirting and new love, and Sensational (2021) added wrinkles in the form of partners who were rude and downright annoying, De Casier writes in ‘Still’ with new clarity about genuine heartbreak. Despite all the new heaviness that emerges on ‘Still‘ – and the subtle political charge that comes with it – De Casier’s music remains as fun and sensual as ever. ‘Still‘ confirms that there are few artists who make music that slides so freely between sensitivity and irreverence, sex and sadness.

Her idiosyncratic mix of lush electronics and R&B is further refined into that unique sound on ‘Still‘. Her songwriting is as masterful and universal as ever, and her skill as a producer has been strengthened as she produces other voices for the first time (They Hate Change, Shygirl, Blood Orange). She also invites new collaborators and works with live musicians in addition to samples. N, co-producer of Essentials and Sensational, returns here, but the group adds Jonathan Jull Ludvigsen, Carl Emil Johansen, Niels Kirk, Christian Rhode Lindinger, Nick León, Kirsten Nyhus Janssen and Tobias Sachse, who provide live drums, synths , guitar, bass and more. These musicians, together with De Casier’s choir of friends who sing and rap on the album, bring an element of surprise and roughness to her musical universe; where those first two albums felt like outpourings straight from the depths of De Casier’s brain, ‘Still’ feels like a conversation between friends in the back room of a crowded bar.

The 33-year-old Danish singer, songwriter and producer gained a large fan base with her debut album “Essentials” in 2019 and strengthened that fan base with “Sensational” in 2021, her first album for 4AD. Since then she has performed at some of the biggest festivals in the world, written for pop stars (NewJeans) and sung on hyped dance tracks (Mura Masa, Shygirl).

Tracklist “Still” 

1. Right This Way
2. Home Alone
3. Lucky
4. The Princess
5. ice (ft. They Hate Change)
6. Test It
7. ooh
8. Believe It
9. Anxious
10. Ex-Girlfriend (ft. Shygirl)
11. Toxic
12. My Day Off
13. Twice (ft. Blood Orange)
14. Someone


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *